Tuesday, March 29, 2022

Expedition 66: Change of Command Ceremony | International Space Station

Expedition 66: Change of Command Ceremony | International Space Station 

Ceremony starts at 4 minute & 37 seconds mark

March 29, 2022: Aboard the International Space Station, Roscosmos cosmonaut Anton Shkaplerov handed over command of the International Space Station to NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn during a change of command ceremony between Expedition 66 and Expedition 67 March 29. Shkaplerov is headed home with NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei and Roscosmos cosmonaut Pyotr Dubrov March 30 for a parachute-assisted landing in Kazakhstan to wrap up their mission.

Mark Vande Hei, along with Russian cosmonauts Anton Shkaplerov and Pyotr Dubrov, will close the hatch to the Soyuz MS-19 spacecraft to begin the journey back to Earth. The Soyuz will undock from the Rassvet module, heading for a parachute-assisted landing Wednesday, March 30, on the steppe of Kazakhstan, southeast of the remote town of Dzhezkazgan.

Coverage of the crew’s farewells, undocking, and landing will air live on NASA TV: nasa.gov/nasatv, the agency’s website, and the NASA app at the following times—all Eastern Daylight Time (EDT):

11:30 p.m. Tuesday, March 29 – Farewells and hatch closure (at 12 a.m., Wednesday, March 30)

2:45 a.m. Wednesday, March 30 – Undocking (at 3:21 a.m.)

6:15 a.m. Wednesday, March 30 – Deorbit burn and landing (landing at 7:28 a.m. / 5:28 p.m. Kazakhstan time)

Vande Hei and Dubrov launched April 9, 2021, on Soyuz MS-18, and will wrap up a 355-day mission spanning 5,680 orbits of Earth and more than 150 million miles. During the long-duration mission, Vande Hei broke the record for longest single spaceflight by an American astronaut, previously held at 340 days. Vande Hei will wrap up his second spaceflight with a total of 523 days in space. Shkaplerov launched on Soyuz MS-19 on Oct. 5, 2021. This was Dubrov’s first flight. Shkaplerov is ending his fourth mission with 708 cumulative days spent in space.

At the time of undocking, Expedition 67 will formally begin aboard the station, with new station Commander Tom Marshburn, NASA astronauts Raja Chari and Kayla Barron, ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Matthias Maurer, and Roscosmos cosmonauts Oleg Artemyev, Denis Matveev, and Sergey Korsakov.

After landing, the Soyuz MS-19 crew will split up, as per standard crew return practice, with Vande Hei returning to his home in Houston, while the cosmonauts fly back to their training base in Star City, Russia.

An international partnership of space agencies provides and operates the elements of the International Space Station (ISS). The principals are the space agencies of the United States, Russia, Europe, Japan, and Canada. The ISS has been the most politically complex space exploration program ever undertaken.

Expedition 66 Crew:

New Commander: Thomas Marshburn

Former Commander: Anton Shkaplerov of Roscosmos (Russia)

Roscosmos (Russia) Flight Engineers: Pyotr Dubrov, Sergey Korsakov, Oleg Artemyev, and Denis Matveev

European Space Agency (ESA) Flight Engineer Matthias Maurer (DLR/German Aerospace Center)

NASA (U.S.) Flight Engineers: Raja Chari, Kayla Barron, and Mark Vande Hei

Learn more about the important research being operated on Station:


For more information about STEM on Station:


Science, Technology, Engineering, Math (STEM) Education

Credit: NASA Video

Duration: 10 minutes, 58 seconds

Release Date: March 29, 2022

#NASA #Space #ISS #Astronauts #Cosmonauts #AntonShkaplerov #Roscosmos #Роскосмос #Commander #Ceremony #ThomasMarshburn #ESA #Europe #Science #Technology #Engineering #Research #Laboratory #Russia #Россия #UnitedStates #Expedition66 #Expedition67 #International #Crew #Cooperation #STEM #Education #HD #Video

No comments:

Post a Comment