Friday, March 15, 2024

Arrival of Crew-8, Departure of Crew-7 | International Space Station

Arrival of Crew-8, Departure of Crew-7 | International Space Station

NASA astronaut and Expedition 70 Flight Engineer Jeanette Epps
Expedition 70 crew members pose for a portrait ahead of Crew-7's departure from the International Space Station. From left are Satoshi Furukawa of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), Loral O'Hara and Jeanette Epps of NASA, Andreas Mogensen of the European Space Agency (ESA), plus Michael Barratt, Matthew Dominick, and Jasmin Moghbeli of NASA
NASA Astronauts Jasmin Moghbeli and Loral O'Hara
NASA Astronauts Jasmin Moghbeli, Matthew Dominick, and Loral O'Hara
Expedition 70 Flight Engineer and NASA astronaut Jasmin Moghbeli prepares to open a science freezer for research operations inside the International Space Station's Kibo laboratory module.
NASA astronauts Michael Barratt and Jasmin Moghbeli pose for a portrait
Expedition 70 Flight Engineer and NASA astronaut Matthew Dominick tests out pressure cuffs on his thighs. These will be used to examine whether wearing the cuffs in microgravity changes the way fluid moves around inside the body
NASA astronauts Loral O'Hara and Jasmin Moghbeli hug ahead of Crew-7's departure from the International Space Station

The International Space Station’s population is back down to seven as Monday saw the departure of NASA’s SpaceX Crew-7. Astronauts Jasmin Moghbeli of NASA, Andreas Mogensen of European Space Agency (ESA), Satoshi Furukawa of Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), and cosmonaut Konstantin Borisov of Roscosmos of Russia undocked from the forward-facing port of the Harmony module at 11:20 a.m. EDT Monday, March 11, 2024, before splashing down off the coast of Florida at 5:47am Tuesday, March 12. The quartet’s return to Earth marks the end of its six-month microgravity research mission.

Follow Expedition 70 Updates:

Expedition 70 Crew
Station Commander: Oleg Kononenko (Russia)
Roscosmos (Russia): Nikolai Chub, Alexander Grebenkin (Russia)
NASA: Loral O'Hara, Matthew Dominik, Mike Barrett, Jeanette Epps

An international partnership of space agencies provides and operates the elements of the International Space Station (ISS). The principals are the space agencies of the United States, Russia, Europe, Japan, and Canada. The ISS has been the most politically complex space exploration program ever undertaken.

Image Credit: NASA's Johnson Space Center (JSC)

Image Dates: March 6-11, 2024

#NASA #Space #ISS #Science #Astronauts #SpaceX #SpaceXCrew7 #JasminMoghbeli #UnitedStates #AndreasMogensen #Europe #ESA #SatoshiFurukawa #JAXA #Japan #日本 #Cosmonaut #KonstantinBorisov #Russia #Россия #Roscosmos #Роскосмос #Expedition70 #HumanSpaceflight #STEM #Education

No comments:

Post a Comment